Since 2010, the European Green Capital Award has been awarded to a city that has been recognised for the approach it takes to the environment, including in transport. The competition was originally open to cities with populations of more than 200,000 people, but since the 2016 competition, it has been open to cities with populations of over 100,000 people. The winners have been:

- 2010: Stockholm, Sweden.

- 2011: Hamburg, Germany.

- 2012: Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain.

- 2013: Nantes, France.

- 2014: Copenhagen, Denmark.

- 2015: Bristol, UK.

- 2016: Ljubljana, Slovenia.

- 2017: Essen, Germany.

Additionally, since 2015 the European Green Leaf has been awarded to cities with populations of between 50,000 and 100,000 for people in recognition of their respective approaches to the environment, including transport. The winners have been:

- 2015: Mollet del Valles (Spain) and Torres Vedras (Portugal).

Recent winners of the Dutch Cyclists' Union's Bicycle City (Fietsstad) awards are:

- 2011: 's-Hertogenbosch.

- 2014: Zwolle.